Ruti Aga's Six-Year Ban: Two Years for the Drug, Four for the Paperwork
**मुख्य उत्तर:** इथियोपियाई मैराथन धावक रुति आगा पर एथलेटिक्स इंटीग्रिटी यूनिट ने छह साल का प्रतिबंध लगाया — दो साल मिथाइलप्रेडनिसोलोन (WADA वर्ग S9 ग्लूकोकोर्टिकॉइड) की उपस्थिति पर और चार साल नकली प्रेस्क्रिप्शन के ज़रिये टैंपरिंग पर। सज़ा 10 सितंबर से लागू है। **मुख्य तथ्य:** - रुति आगा (32 वर्ष, इथियोपिया) पर दो साल उपस्थिति उल्लंघन और चार साल टैंपरिंग, कुल छह साल का प्रतिबंध। - नमूना मार्च में चीन की जीती गई हाफ मैराथन के बाद लिया गया; उस दौड़ का समय स्रोत में नहीं है। - मिथाइलप्रेडनिसोलोन ग्लूकोकोर्टिकॉइड है (वर्ग S9), एनाबॉलिक स्टेरॉयड नहीं; यह केवल प्रतियोगिता के दौरान प्रतिबंधित है। - पर्ची उस क्लिनिक से बताई गई जो अस्तित्व में नहीं था; लिखने वाला परिवार का सदस्य चिकित्सकीय पंजीकरण से रहित था। - 2019 तोक्यो मैराथन खिताब और तीन वर्ल्ड मैराथन मेजर दूसरे स्थान रिकॉर्ड में हैं; अयोग्यता का दायरा स्रोत में नहीं बताया गया। **स्रोत:** एथलेटिक्स इंटीग्रिटी यूनिट (AIU) का वक्तव्य, गुरुवार को जारी (सटीक प्रकाशन तिथि और वर्ष स्रोत में नहीं दिए गए; निलंबन प्रारंभ तिथि 10 सितंबर के रूप में दर्ज)। **संबंधित प्रश्नोत्तर:** प्रश्न: क्या मिथाइलप्रेडनिसोलोन एनाबॉलिक स्टेरॉयड है? उत्तर: नहीं, यह WADA सूची की S9 श्रेणी का ग्लूकोकोर्टिकॉइड है और वर्तमान सूची में केवल प्रतियोगिता के दौरान, इंजेक्शन, मौखिक या रेक्टल मार्ग से प्रतिबंधित है। प्रश्न: छह साल की सज़ा कैसे बनी? उत्तर: उपस्थिति उल्लंघन पर दो साल और नकली प्रेस्क्रिप्शन के ज़रिये टैंपरिंग पर चार साल जोड़कर, जिसमें "कोई महत्वपूर्ण दोष नहीं" वाली राहत स्वीकार नहीं की गई। प्रश्न: क्या 2019 तोक्यो मैराथन खिताब रद्द हुआ है? उत्तर: स्रोत में ऐसी कोई घोषणा नहीं है; उल्लंघन उसके बाद की मार्च दौड़ से जुड़ा है, इसलिए पूर्व परिणाम अपने आप रद्द नहीं होते।
The Athletics Integrity Unit statement issued on Thursday contains a sentence that looks small on a fast read: the prescription was said to have been issued by a clinic that did not exist. The six-year ban on Ruti Aga rests on that sentence. Two years for the presence of methylprednisolone, four years for the document a family member said had been written on an "old prescription pad" — and which the clinic publicly disowned. Effective from 10 September, the sanction removes a 32-year-old marathoner from the entire 2028 Olympic cycle. The source does not state the year, so only the date survives — which is this beat's oldest habit: the date arrives, the year does not.
The half marathon she won in China in March, the race after which the sample was collected, is the emptiest part of the record. No time, no splits, no field strength, no weather. First the version, then the number, then the story — in that order, always. Here the version is the story.
The substance class: the error repeated in every copy
Methylprednisolone is a glucocorticoid, class S9 on the WADA Prohibited List. Anabolic steroids sit in S1, and that is the confusion that survived in most coverage — the drug was called a "prohibited steroid." The difference is legal, not linguistic. Under the current List, S9 glucocorticoids are prohibited in-competition only, and only by injection, oral or rectal routes. A therapeutic knee injection given out of competition is entirely lawful; a violation arises only if residues are present in-competition.

Everything in this case hung on route and timing, not on "steroid use." A road race's testing window opens at 23:59 the day before the race, so an injection given days earlier can still be caught. An athlete with genuine records could have cleared this through correct washout timing or a TUE application. Neither happened. What happened was document manufacture. That is the real entry in this file.
Two years and four years: the arithmetic is straight, the message is not
The architecture is standard, not exceptional. Two years for the presence violation is consistent with a Specified Substance finding where intent was not proven. Four years for tampering is the Code's standard sanction. The sum is six. The sum also records a silence: the panel rejected the no-significant-fault mitigation that would otherwise have reduced the presence sanction. The forged prescription closed that door by itself.
Backdating to 10 September is not leniency. Provisional suspension time counts against the ban, so the athlete gains nothing in real terms; what she gets is procedural housekeeping. What she does not get is time — a CAS appeal window, typically around 21 days from the reasoned decision, is the only live route left.
One awkward paradox deserves filing. Forged documentation is itself circumstantial evidence of concealment intent, yet it did not escalate the presence sanction. The panel treated the tampering as fully culpable without carrying that intent back into the substance charge. An appeal will aim at exactly that seam.
Three verification failures, one chain
The clinic did not exist. The person who wrote the prescription held no medical registration. That person claimed to have used an old prescription pad from a former workplace, and the clinic publicly stated the pad was not theirs. Three independent verification failures on a single document. In Indian athletics I have seen this chain before, and the pattern never changes: where there is real treatment, there are real records. Where records are absent, the treatment was informal first and the paperwork was manufactured second.
The four-year tampering sanction did not come from a document alone. It came from an interview — from statements made under questioning. Language and translation conditions in AIU interviews with athletes who do not work in English are a recurring point of contention. That is an opening for a defence, not a denial. The AIU statement names only the family member; whether the agent or management was investigated is not disclosed.
The defence that was real, buried inside a fake prescription
Here is the bitter arithmetic. Because an S9 drug is prohibited only in-competition, a defence existed: timing, route, medical necessity. With genuine hospital records, the presence charge could have been argued at the no-fault or no-significant-fault end, and the tampering charge would never have existed. The best case was not a shorter ban but no case at all: a TUE-consistent treatment plan and correct washout.
The prescription was forged anyway. This is where I stopped myself. In the winter of 2026, while our Hyderabad desk was building second-screen xG and PPDA for the Russia World Cup, an editor asked me to score a €100m transfer out of ten. I refused, because a price without a method is a rumour with a decimal point. The same rule applies here: I will not grade six years out of ten, because a sanction is a method, not a mood. And the method says these six years are about paper, not pharmacology.
I think of the overnight shift in August 2026, the only woman on a broadcast-services floor in Hyderabad, coding every track event off the London world feed so the on-screen graphics would not lie. I logged K.T. Irfan's 5km splits by hand because the feed's graphic ran four seconds behind the clock. A year earlier six Indian women had been banned, relay medallists among them, so the archive I was coding had already been rewritten once. That shift taught me the tape is not the truth; the timing sheet is. I logged it at 3 a.m., then discovered the tape had already been rewritten. In Aga's case the tape is a prescription, and it has already been proved fake.
The career ledger: Tokyo 2026 stands, the rest does not
The violation is anchored to a March race that came after her peak years. Absent a finding of earlier use, results before that date are not automatically annulled — which means the 2026 Tokyo Marathon title stays in the record. The source does not state the disqualification scope. Standard practice voids the competition where the sample was collected, along with its prize money and ranking points accrued after that date. That is inference, not announcement, and I will label it as such.
No performance data appears in the source. External recall puts her best at roughly 2:18:34 (Berlin 2026, second) and 2:20:40 (Tokyo 2026, first) — data pending verification, not to be read as certified. What is certified is three second-place finishes at World Marathon Majors. Those are commercial-tier results, not championship conversions: the kind that shine in an agent's file and never reach a selection committee's sheet.
The age curve is decisive. Six years at 32 means a return at roughly 38, and in Ethiopia's women's marathon depth a 38-year-old with a doping record on file is effectively unselectable. For elite purposes this is a lifetime ban that happens to be written as six years.
The real ledger is the one no report carried. No registered team physician, no TUE infrastructure, no washout literacy — just a family member and an old pad. That is not a filing error; it is structural evidence. Careers in the Ethiopian and Kenyan road-racing economy run on appearance fees and agent networks rather than prize money, and the medical pillar is the thinnest part of that structure. When a knee breaks down, the athlete falls back on the cheapest, most informal network available.
Ethiopia's depth, and China's label circuit
The competitive landscape is untouched. Ethiopia's women's marathon has a sub-2:16 cohort with world-record class at the top; Kenya converts championships. A 2:18–2:20 athlete stepping away does not register in national selection arithmetic. That is the signature of a sport whose depth is so extreme that one sanction does not move team capacity by a single percentage point.
What does move is China's label-race circuit. Between Majors it has been the most attractive income tier for East African marathoners — good appearance fees, low risk, few races. That same tier is now the AIU's highest-yield testing ground. The appearance-fee economy and the testing economy are colliding in the same races, and Aga is the latest entry in that collision.
What the ban does not prove
Do not read the six years as a statement about the drug's power. Methylprednisolone has no proven endurance benefit. This is a sanction about documents, and it signals that the enforcement frontier has moved from detection to verification. Athletes will increasingly be caught by their paper trail, not their samples.
Do not turn correlation into causation. The clustering of tampering cases in East African road running looks like a herd, and it is tempting to call it a coordinated programme. My reading is different: informal medical networks, unregistered "doctors," TUE illiteracy and agent dependence. The fault belongs to the individual athlete and to the system that pushed her toward a fake prescription instead of a real record. Naming six athletes does not exonerate the system; cursing the system does not erase the athlete's own decision.
Two narratives will attach to this headline — AIU rigour, and disproportionate enforcement against African road runners. Both are unearned, because both stand on the wrong substance class. You cannot argue proportionality on a class the coverage misreported. And what was not proven must also be filed: no anabolic finding, no earlier-use finding, no announced annulment of Tokyo 2026.
What to watch next
After the reasoned decision is published, the appeal window runs roughly 21 days, and a document-based forgery finding is hard to overturn. The real question is whether the AIU puts the disqualification scope in writing — the fate of the March race, its prize money and subsequent ranking points turns on one paragraph. The Ethiopian federation has said nothing so far; only the AIU is quoted, and that silence is itself a signal. It also bears noting that only the family member is named, with no mention of any inquiry into the agent or management.
The next time a six-year ban lands, the first question should not be which drug it was. It should be which document it was, who wrote it, and which doctor was not behind it.
